Do you agree or disagree with following statement: All the university students should take history courses no matter what field they major in.

University courses lay a very solid academic foundation for the future development of college students. Facing the great selections of these courses, some people say that history classes should be made compulsory for college students, for the reason that they could be more familiar with the advancement and evolution of human society. I disagree. I believe, despite minor merits, asking students of all majors to attend history classes would cause problems.

Initially, history courses would put more academic pressures on students. College students have already had to study many theories and professional subjects related to their majors and their schedule is very tight. For example, a medical student is not only obliged to finish his professional papers for credit, but he also needs to find the opportunity to get clinical experience. His load is so heavy that he could not afford to take any irrelevant courses, such as history. In this case, schools should not add this course, because students would worry whether they are able to finish their homework on time and how likely they would pass final examinations.

In addition, a required history course would lead to unnecessary costs for parents and students. To guarantee the quality of lecturing, colleges have to hire talented and senior history professors and experts, such as those from the best-known universities of history institutes. This would increase the cost of schooling. Normally, a lecture given by a famous history professor costs over 1,000 dollars, and these costs would be reflected in the tuition fee, which would deprive many underprivileged students of an opportunity for education.

Admittedly, taking history courses does have its merits. On one hand, students could learn to prevent repeating the mistakes off the past. For instance, they would learn about the cause of the world wars and other bloody battles that claimed the lives of millions. On the other hand, students could also gain a better understanding of current issues by studying historical events. For example, by studying the American Revolution a student could be enlightened on the current world democracy. However, this knowledge could be acquired by other method other than required courses; history seminars, TV documentaries and comparable books are all available options for students to learn about history.

In conclusion, although there are some small benefits of requiring a history course, making every college student take a history course would overburdened the students both academically and financially. In addition, the small advantage that a required history course would provide can be obtained other ways.