Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? "In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today."

Firstly, new transportation vehicles will soon replace cars and change the world significantly. The new transportation vehicles, using only electricity as energy, are more environmentally friendly than the conventional fuel-powered vehicles. Now, in the suburb of my hometown Beijing, the new electric buses have been put into use. Accordingly, the gas stations will be gradually replaced by the “electricity stations” if the electric buses can win supports from public. It is foreseeable that the electric buses become more popular among families. The number of cars will reduce in the coming years.

Secondly, people in increasing numbers are aware of the urgent requirement for a cleaner environment and then, they might refuse to use cars in daily life. The automobiles business went through tremendous development over the past century, which has brought convenience to car owners but disasters to our environment. Strong evidence shows that the hole in the Ozone Layer over the Antarctic region has expanded at an alarming rate beyond prediction. Besides, polar glaciers quickly melt down by serious global warming. It is the emission of cars that has been accused of being the prime suspect for these environmental problems.

Thirdly, peoples’ traditional conceptions of cars will change in the future. In the past, an expensive car, a big house and a large number of savings in the bank used to be a symbol of a successful person. A car owner was more popular among young girls compared with a man who did not afford a car. However, in recent years, whether the man has a car is no longer a key factor when a girl considers her marriage. Girls nowadays pay close attention to a man’s educational background and virtues. so I predict that fewer cars will be bought as a necessity for family life.