Governments should provide universal healthcare.

Some people believe that governments should not provide universal healthcare because it will drive up the taxes and government expenditure will rise. However, I agree that government should provide universal healthcare. I will state two major reasons to explain my stance.

First, healthcare should not be a privilege but a right as everyone deserves to have access to healthcare. For instance, when I started my first job in one of the biggest, most expensive cities of the country I was not earning sufficient money to pay premiums or monthly payments for any health insurance plan. During that period of time, I was constantly struggling with breathing issues. I only googled my symptoms and looked for homemade remedies because I desperately wanted to avoid seeing a doctor. I avoided doctors not because I did not believe in medical science but to dodge those hefty medical bills, which I could not afford. Eventually, I had a better job and with that came health insurance, hence I was fortunate to seek a doctor’s care again. However, unfortunately, a lot of people are still struggling and they hesitate to go to doctors either to avoid medical bills or they cannot simply afford to have those expensive health or medical insurances.

Second, a large number of people strongly oppose universal healthcare by governments because they believe it will raise government expenditure or the government will be unable to afford it. In contrast, I believe that if the government can have the budget to spend billions of dollars to buy or build weapons then they can have money to provide healthcare to everyone. Most weapons are rarely used so instead of spending money preparing for battles a nation may never have to fight, it would be ideal to provide better healthcare to its citizens.

In conclusion it be said that it is a complex topic and people will find it difficult to find common ground. Some will oppose universal healthcare citing reasons such as higher taxes, more government spending. Nevertheless, I support universal healthcare because no one should ever have to worry about medical bills while significant amount of money is being spent to build weapons that will only harm the world.