Humanity will be able to drastically reduce the use of fossil fuel

Some experts believe that most people use up a lot of energy generated from fossil fuel unnecessarily and the rate at which renewable energy sources are being implemented is not sufficient to decrease the usage of fossil fuel. However, I believe that humanity will be able to reduce the usage of fossil fuel.

Firstly, most inhabitants of the planet are more educated and more aware of the limitation of fossil fuel. There has been a recent increase in the number of people who use electricity frugally or prefer public transportation over private vehicles. For instance, when I started to study at a university it took me more than an hour to get to there, however, just after a couple of years my commute shortened to thirty minutes. The traffic on the road decreased owing to lesser number of vehicles and the number of vehicles decreased because of a successful campaign about saving fossil fuel. The government ran that very successful campaign and made people aware of the benefits of using public transportation and how driving less can result in lower usage of fossil fuel. It is a remarkable example of how people these days care more about the planet and understand the importance of decreasing the usage of fossil fuel.

Secondly, while most people are still reliant on non-renewable energy sources there has been a surge in usage of energy generated by renewable energy sources. For example, during summer now we get most of energy from the solar panels that we have mounted on our roofs. Since, more and more renewable energy sources are being used, it is possible that usage of fossil fuel will come down.

Lastly, news or media are actively educating people about climate change and how reduction in usage of fossil fuel can help the world. My uncle always kept the TV on after watching the news, but recently after learning the about the benefits of reducing usage of fossil fuel he no longer carelessly keeps the TV on, instead ensures that everyone in the household does not keep any electrical appliance turned on unnecessarily. As more people are being careful, it can be assumed that usage of fossil fuel will decrease.