Playing games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play games.

Some people may say that playing computer games is great for recreational purposes. However, I agree that playing games is waste of time. I believe, playing computer games consumes a lot of time, can impact a child’s health and blocks the connection between children and nature.

First, computer games are addictive and children keep playing them without realizing how much time they are wasting. Instead of playing those computer games, if children did something else like studying or playing an instrument they could achieve more in life. For instance, when I was much younger, as a child it seemed like that playing computer games was the sole purpose of my life. I woke up to play games and went to sleep thinking about the next level that I had to reach in those games. While I glued myself to the computer playing those games, I was completely oblivious of all things that I had to like studying. As a result, I received really poor grades and I was unable to get admitted to a good school. Till date, I regret that and I feel had I not played computer games all day and studied I could have been to a better school. Hence, playing computer is truly nothing but a waste of time since it keeps one from doing something more productive.

Second, playing computer games is detrimental to health. My eight-year-old cousin is addicted to computer games and he already has to wear big goggles. According to his doctor, playing computer games has affected his eyes and now he will need glasses all his life for proper vision. Furthermore, as children keep playing computer games they do not play or participate in sports much. Consequently, physical activity among children has declined and obesity among them have risen. It is unfortunate and children like my cousin do not deserve that. Hence, it is imperative that parents keep young children away from computer games so that their health is not impacted negatively, after all health is wealth.

Third, playing computer games all day keeps children away from the outdoors. Most children these days, are so addicted to those computer screens that they do not go outside or play with their peers. Furthermore, they do not get to interact with nature enough or appreciate it. Children should not play computer games but go outdoors and enjoy the beauty nature has got to offer.

People still state that everything in moderation is the best so children should be allowed to play computer games as it offers a great opportunity for them to have an enjoyable time. Nevertheless, I still believe that playing computer is a waste of time and it has significant negative impacts on children.