high school students should be required to have three years of studying a foreign language

Those years we spend in high school, are one of the most amazing years of our life. We experience or do somethings which can change the path of our life forever. Sometimes we miss some big opportunities, because we do not have some basic qualifications we need. But, what things must be required for high school student? In my view, knowing a foreign language fluently is almost the key thing they must have. Why so, most of them who are good enough to continue their education in foreign countries, miss this opportunity, just because they do not know a foreign language.

Firstly, knowing a foreign language helps you to have a deeper connection with world. Nowadays, we are living in the world which is like a big village more than any age. The long distances between countries is not important any more. No matter how much people are far from each other, they can easily have connection and even work together. Teenagers are one of those people who eagerly want to make and keep this global connection. But, if they do not know an international language well enough, they will miss this opportunity to have collaboration with other people in the world. When I started my high school, my father told me “no matter how much you are good in mathematic or chemistry, you must know English and French as much as other courses”. So, I started taking English and French classes. This happen leads to one of my most amazing experiences which was studying in France for two years. Now that I am thinking about those days, I appreciate my father who helped me to learn two foreign languages and make a good connection with the world.

Secondly, knowing a foreign language is needed for having a better life. Having a good life is something which become harder each single day. We must gain lots of skills to have this chance to make a good life for ourselves and our future family. One of the most important skills we need is knowing a foreign language. In my view, the best time to start learning a language is during school. When we are in elementary school we can start learning the language we want to learn, in this way, when we start our high school, we know the language well and we have this chance to make better choices. Why so, knowing a foreign language helps us to make bigger decisions. And if we want to have a better life, we must be brave enough to take those big decisions.

To cut the long story short, all I want to say is that, maybe some students do not want to go to university or even work for a foreign company which needs to know a foreign language, but, they are part of this big world. everything happens in this world can have a deep effect on them too. Based on this issue that the world is making its communication bigger and bigger, it is highly needed to know at least one of international languages. But the point is that, when is the best time to learn a language? In my view, during school time before we get too busy by work or our lessons, exactly before high school.