Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school Use specific reasons and examples to support your position

Some people believe that children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school. However, in my opinion, I do not agree to this and I think children do not need to start to learn a foreign language in an early age.

To begin with, children should learn their mother language first in depth in school. Learning two languages at the same time in kindergarten or elementary school can cause confusion to children and interfere improving the mother language. For example, one of my friends sent his son to Chinese kindergarten to learn Chinese intensively. Few years later, the son could have a better Chinese proficiency than before, but his Korean ability had only little improvement and caused a problem in making friends in Korean school. So, I think that children should learn a foreign language after mastering his mother language first.

On top of that, Children can lose interest on the foreign language easily in case of studying it at an early age. For instance, most Korean children in China start to learn Chinese from kindergarten to high school, but their Chinese ability is still not so satisfactory. Since they have had lots of stress and pressure on Chinese, they cannot enjoy studying Chinese anymore. However, many students who are from Korea in high school or University have good Chinese level within short time, because Chinese is totally new to them, so they can enjoy and want to study Chinese hard by their will.

To sum up, Children should not learn a foreign language before mastering their mother language first in depth after entering school. Also If children start to learn a foreign language too early, they can lose interest on the foreign language easily. In this regard, I do not support the idea that Children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school.