As you read the passage below consider how Paul Bogard uses evidence such as facts or examples to support claims reasoning to develop ideas and to connect claims and evidence stylistic or persuasive elements such as w

In Paul Bogard “Let there Be light”, He talks about the ways that light can affect our everyday life. He goes in depth of the ways that artificial light could be harmful, and that we should preserve natural darkness. By using personal anecdote and evidence, he convinces us.

Paul Bogard uses personal anecdote in his passage, to convince his readers. It states, “At my family’s cabin on a Minnesota lake, I knew woods so dark that my hands disappeared before my eyes. I knew night skies in which meteors left smoky trails across sugary spreads of stars. But now, when 8 of 10 children born in the United States will never know a sky dark enough for the Milky Way, I worry we are rapidly losing night’s natural darkness before realizing it's worth.” (Bogard 1) This shows Bogard’s own experience. He is telling us about the wonderful natural wonders that he had encountered on his own. He knows that the things he encountered may disappear in years. He wants to preserve the things that he had experienced for the following generations. He shows sympathy, so that others follow what he thinks.

Bogard also shows many signs of using evidence. He shows strong signs of it when he states, “Already the World Health Organization classifies working the night shift as a probable human carcinogen, and the American Medical Association has voiced its unanimous support for “light pollution reduction efforts and glare reduction efforts at both the national and state levels.” (Bogard 3) This usage of evidence shows that he has a lot to say. He also finds many pieces of evidence from respected sites. He knows that people will be more likely to believe him if he uses things from famous websites.

Bogard uses personal anecdote and evidence to help himself convince others of things that he believes. He convinces us that by preserving natural light, they can save the world, and allow future generations to experience what we do. We can see the sights of stars, and other natural wonders by preserving natural darkness.