How do movies or television influence people's behavior? use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, movies and television shows play a significant role in people's lives. They affect many different aspects of our society and their influence is reaching far deep to modify people's behaviour. In my opinion, movies and TV shows could influence behaviour in a negative or positive way.

First of all, some movies could have a large negative impact by introducing undesirable role-models. we see now the exaggerations in the "Anti-hero" characters in movies. This character acts badly around people, ignores rules and glorify excessive alcohol consumption. Unfortunately, this comes to take big part in our popular culture. My own experience is a compelling example on this. One of my friends in high school was a straight A student. I remember how his behaviour changed when he started watching these movies, which give impression that consuming vast amount of narcotics is not only amusing but a desirable behaviour. He began to struggle with his grades and barely finished high school. He ended up unemployed now with no prospect of finding a job. Had he never watched these shows, he would not have put himself in this desperate situation today.

On the other hand, other movies offer positive role-models. shows which picture good families are desirable. These programs always showcase a functioning and stable families. there might be some regular life or day to day struggle but overall a positive value is emphasized. This definitely helps build the society morale. My own family used to watch a wonderful drama show from which we could certainly take inspiration. Although we did not perfectly live up to the ideals presented in it, it helped modify our behaviour for the good.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the effect of the entertainment industry on our society is undeniable. Sometimes it contributes positively to society by introducing positive values which people could emulate. Other times, it could end up with a detrimental disastrous effect.