Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

--Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

--Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

--Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most of the students would have experience that something is wrong taken by the teachers, yet the reactions of students may differ. Some would choose to raise their hand right away and correct the teacher. Other choose to stay put and say nothing. As far as I am concerned, I would choose to wait until the class or meeting and talk to the teacher while the others are gone. In the following passages, I would illustrate my thoughts.

The very first reason for me to do that is because I believe that correction is necessary. If no one says anything, then probably the teacher won't realize his own mistake and would probably keep on passing that wrong idea. Take my personal experience for instance. There was once my history teacher were comparing the differences of World War one and World War two, and he just put the countries that went to war in the opposites order. Although I spotted the mistake right away, I didn't say anything. It is not until the monthly test that a lot of students suddenly came to realize what the teacher said was wrong and they blamed him relentlessly. Seeing the teacher frustrated and upset, I felt bad since I didn't come forward and correct it. This event marked my mind that a single mistake really will guide the students in the wrong direction, and I should always talk to the teacher if I have any questions on the lecture.

While talking to the teacher is important, the way the students put it also matters. Some will prefer correct it right away in the class, whereas I found talking to the teacher after class better. From my experience, it sometimes leaves the teacher with no face when students try to spot the mistakes in the class. It almost appears like students are "teaching the teacher a lesson" and this act is not comfortable in teacher's perspective. When I was in high school, there were some naughty classmates who always try to humiliate the teacher when they said things wrong. Personally, I think this is really disrespectful. If I were the teacher, I would have preferred students come to points out my mistake after class. In this way, it will avoid the awkwardness, and the teacher can correct his own mistake in the next meeting.

To sum up, I believe that correction is needed when a teacher makes mistake. Also, I prefer to expressing my own opinion to the teacher after class to avoid embarrassment and save face.Thus, for me, the second way- to wait until the class is over without other students around and then talk to the teacher- would be the best thing to do.