Imagine that you are going to visit a new city, which one of the following ways do you think is the best way to know the city in a short time?

1. visit historic sites

2.go to shops and markets

3.enjoy the restaurant and spend time in cafe

When people arrive at a new city, the first thing they want to do is always learning the city, its history, culture, and things of that nature. With various options to familiarize one with a city, there are some debates about which approach is the best one. In my perspective, visiting local restaurants or cafes is the best choice among others such as shopping or visiting historical monuments, by which one can immerse oneself in learning local culture, lifestyle, and even economy.

Spending time in a restaurant or cafe can help a person get a taste about the city's culture. Among the people from all walks of life eating at restaurants, there is something they share in common. Through these similarities, newcomers can sense the customs, values, and lifestyles of natives. My experience in one city is a compelling example to illustrate this. Last summer holiday, I traveled to a metropolis, Shanghai, China. While having meals in the restaurants in Shanghai, I quickly spotted that the majority of people, be it white-collar workers or blue-collar workers, are all moving in a hasty way, rushing to their workplaces. Hardly could I notice that eaters communicated with each other except the simple ordering between waiters and customers, brief greetings among eaters. Thus, it is reasonable to reach the conclusion that people in Shanghai share such values and lifestyles as career-minded and fast-paced. To some extent, these qualities can also reflect the overall culture of the city.

At restaurants, one can also have a sense of the local economy. The price of food ordered by local people can be an indicator of the average income of the city's population. If more people order exorbitant food, in most cases, people dwelling in this area are affluent. Likewise, if the majority of people order food with moderate prices, we can easily reach the conclusion that people there are cautious about the money they spend. Another telltale hint of the local economy is the decoration of the restaurants. If people inhabiting nearby are wealthy, the restaurants will probably try to cater to their taste by deliberately decorating the restaurants from inside to outside. Yet people with low income would not care whether they are eating at a grand building or whatever, because all they want is that the food is worth their money.

It may be argued that historical museums also offer a storehouse of information about an area's culture and customs. However, from the antiques displayed in the museum, the information is limited to the scope of the past. Only can visitors grasp some implications of the past in shaping the modern life of the city. Shopping in a supermarket cannot provide a comprehensive angle for newcomers to know the local economy since it is almost certain that most commodities are sold at a reasonable price. Moreover, as a traveler or newcomer, a person neither wants nor needs to go shopping. Thus, it will not be convenient for anyone who wants to learn about a city to go to a market especially.

To conclude, considering that eating at a local restaurant or café can offer newcomers a better opportunity to learn about a place’s culture, lifestyle, and economy, it is evident that going to a restaurant is the best means to learn about a city.