Imagine that you own a company and that you are interviewing people who applied for a job at the company. Three candidates applied for the job. Which ONE of the three candidates below would you choose to work at your company? Why would the candidate be the best choice for your company?

-- The candidate with the most experience

-- The candidate with the most creative ideas

-- The candidate who is most motivated and enthusiastic about working for your company

When some people own a company, some will choose to hire interviewers with the most experience. Others may hire the most creative applicants. Still others prefer candidates who are the most motivated. For me, I would undoubtedly choose the candidate who is the most motivated and enthusiastic about their work. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, if I had a company, I would definitely wish that my employees are efficient in their work. Conspicuously, the candidate who is the most motivated and enthusiastic are usually extremely efficient. For example, my father owned an IT company, and he always hired software engineers who have the perseverance to do their task for more than 5 hours without standing up once. To be more specific, my father told me that one of his subordinates, Todd, was frantic and enthusiastic about front-end technology. For most of the time, Todd could complete the front-end of websites in less than 4 days without getting exhausted. On the other hand, my father secretly told me that one of his coworkers, Jane, was skillful in web-designing. She graduated from a prestigious college and won uncountable gold medals in competitive programming competitions. However, my father told me that this type of person was usually lazy and irresponsible. Indeed, even though Jane had enough skills to come up with a website in less than one week, she often procrastinated and could not finish her mission in time. In short, my father’s experience is one of the reasons why I prefer enthusiastic applicants over skillful, knowledgeable ones.

In addition, if I owned a business, I had to make sure that my company is profitable, and hiring motivated employees can help me ensure that my firm is always profitable. Take my friend’s corporation as an example. My cousin was the manager of a machine learning firm, and he told me that one of his workers, Jane, worked ten to twelve hours a day on average. More precisely, she could accomplish customer behavior analysis, data gathering, and model training without complaining about anything. In other words, her average productivity was the highest in the company; she made countless machine models that dropped 96% accurate advertisements to customers. Eventually, the company earned five thousand million dollars from advertisement thanks to her hard-working. On the contrary, my friend also mentioned an uncanny engineer in his company called Todd. Todd is a creative AI expert, and he often cleverly tweaked model parameters to increase performance rate. Nonetheless, thanks to his creativeness, he once trained a high-precision yet over-fitting model without consent. That is, it often produced undesirable advertisement results to customers. Eventually, the company lost millions of dollars due to the significant client loss.

In conclusion, if I were the boss of a firm, I would definitely choose to hire applicants that had abundant motivation and enthusiasm toward their work, considering the aforementioned examples and arguments. That is not to say, of course, that the other two candidates are incompetent. Nonetheless, I maintain that the third candidate is the best option for my organization.