Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 3: Agree or disagree: It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Friendship is one of the most important part of our life. Having good friends around brings more pleasure to our life. While some believe it is more important to make new friends and have fun all the time, others think keeping old friends is more advantagous. I think keeping old friends is more important and my reasons go as follows.

First of all, old friends have past history together. Their friendship is based on mutual interest. Thus, this makes it easier to know their personality and their behavior. They can get along easier. In other words, due to having more time to evaluate each other in different situation they have better underestanding . Therefore, they would have fewer misunderstandings and struggles . For example, when I spend my time with my old friends which I know them very well, I have less conflict and more joy in that time because we know about our sentivisities and thresholds and try not to cross the line. With fewer arguments , there would be more fun and pleasure. Therefore, although making new friends help us to have more experience and access to verity of opinions , it can destroy the joy by conflicts and arguments due not knowing each other well. As you can see, being with old friends is more predictable and desirable.

Moreover, due to having more time for evaluation, old friends are more trustworthy and reliable. In fact, old friends usually are better fit for having honest relationship. In other words, time is a good way of assessing the reliability of people. Most people show their real personality and charactristic during time when first impression fades away and reality reveals. For instance, I can trust my old friends and confide in them but this never occur with my new friends which I do not know for a long time. Eventhough they are far from me and there is distance between us , they always have time for me and listen to my words carefully. This experiences show that we can tell our secret only to our old friends who are reliable.

In addition, old friends are more helpful and can give better advice. In other words, old friends know more about our weaknesses and strengths. So, their suggestions are based on longlasting friendship and are more realistic. For example, my old friends are always my good and reliable consultants and i can get their advice even from far distance. They showed their behaviour during time and i can count on them in any situation. They are for me like a precious gem. On the other hand, new friends do not know me very well and i can not count on their help and support in the time of need. Also, they may not give practical or even convenient advice. As you can see, we can have more support from our old friends.

In conclusion, eventhough making new friends brings more excitement and experience to our life,keeping old friends are more important. Not only they are more reliable but are also more helpful . We feel intimate and safe when we are around them.