TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Freindship is one of the indispensable part of our life. We need to communicate with others and make friends and be loved. While some believe maintaining few old friends are more important for having a happy life due to less misunderstanding and more reliability, others against it. In my opinion, although every old friend is like a precious gem that enrich our life , for having a happy life ,we need to make new friends in our life due to change in our situation in life, have more connection and better social comfort.

First of all, our life goes through different stages and we have to adapt with any changes in our life. For instance, when we grew up we went from high school to different university or college and then moved to other place for work . Some people have to change their city and even their country . We may be far from our close friends and not have them beside in time of need. Thus, making new friends is inevitable and necessary for us, unless we feel lonely and desperate in new place. In fact, new friends in our workplace or college give us opportunity to get use to new environment and feel comfortable. In other words, without them we feel isolated, helpless and disappointed. Eventhough, we need time to trust our new friends and there would be misunderstanding in between, we learn how to be more flexible and easy going. Therefore, making new friends make our life more pleasant.

Also, different friends have different point of views and they broaden our perspective. In other words, it is pleasant to learn how to see the things differently and from different scopes. Without friendship with variety of people, we grow very prejudiced and limited ,hence, we do not enjoy our life. For instance, when I went to college and lived in the dormitory, I found new friends from different cultures and countries .It was interesting for me to know about their food and customs. It opened a new door of entertainment and fun for me. In our spare time we try different food and custom and had lots of fun and feit more bond to the community. So, making new friends is eye-opening and bring us more happiness.

Lastly, we live in the world of communication. Improving our social skills is very important for our satisfaction and success. Research study from Harvard university showed that people with greater and broader social connection live longer, healthier and with more happiness. Also, people with greater network of friends are more successful in their life and more satisfied. For instance, my friend sara is very successful in her career due to her ability to communicate well with people. She makes new friends in every situation and gets help from others in time of need and have access to a great network of people . So, Humans need to have social life which is collection of our friends and acquaintances which makes our life full of joy and pleasure.

In conclusion, although our old friends are more reliable and understandable, making new friends have advantages for living happily. Not only they grow our perspective and broaden our view for having more fun in our life, but also make our social life more prosperous. Therefore, it is invaluable to be surrounded by lots of friends in every place and make bond with others.