It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parent’s job than to choose jobs that are very different from their parent’ job.

Since the dawn of the humanity, careers and professions play a crucial role in our life. In all over the human history people followed their ancestors’ careers. However, nowadays, there is an active controversy over whether it would be better for children to continue their parents’ jobs or to choose their own way and interest in their professional life. I personally, subscribe to the view that following their parents’ job, children will lose their chance to prosper. On the contrary, they must find their job according to both their interest and society’s current needs. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on this issue.

To start with, people need to be interested with their careers because it is a life time issue, and if we do not like our job it might be a very laborious task for us to continue it day by day for several years. Therefore, children should follow their own dreams not their fathers’, otherwise, they may fail in their life. For instance, consider a boy whose father is a merchant; however he dreamed to become a lawyer for his entire life. He, definitely, has no talent in trading, but he is able to perfectly argue on the social problems and human right for many hours. He will not be successful in merchandising, although his father can provide him with all the needed knowledge and equipment. However if he continue his higher education in law and become a lawyer, he will outstand in his career due to his interest and his enthusiasm.

On the other hand, nowadays, thanks to the advanced technological breakthrough, numerous new careers come to existence that there were not before. In today’s modern world a high level job need meticulous knowledge in mathematics, modern engineering and computer science. We cannot be prosperous in our job unless we refresh our knowledge and skills constantly. In such situation, our fathers are so far from the new world of technology and their jobs and their knowledge seem significantly out of date. To elucidate this idea, I would like to recount a personal story. My father worked in General Motors Company for 20 years. Last month, his boss informed him that he have to retire because they want to replace him someone who is professional in programming. He has no idea what means programming. As I noticed that event, I changed my mind. I had plan to continue my father’s career in General Motors. However, I fully try to complete my courses in programming and software design which can provide me whit more job opportunities in future.

Drawing upon the aforementioned reasons, it is better for children to not to follow their parents’ job. Because in order to be successful and achieve a rewarding job in future not only do we need to be interested personally in our careers, but also todays’ promising job positions are available only for individuals who are in a good level of modern sciences and highly technical skills.