It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects to specialize in one specific subject.

Education, degree and knowledge are one of the first questions for every employee. Education plays an inevitable role in our future jobs and salaries. Different jobs require different level of specialization and experience and selecting a job as our future occupation is a personal choice and people with different priorities choose different jobs with different prestige.

It happens a lot around us that we hear that a famous company looks for a specialist and an adept person to hire with a high salary. These job positions can be only fulfilled by people who have dedicated their life to a particular field. For instance, if a company looks for a lawyer they don’t care or it is no need for someone that Is also good in mathematics. As we all know being an expert in a field requires lots of energy, dedication and time for gaining experience which isn’t easy and it may frequently exclude us from learning about other subject. Although, it is absurd to claim that anyone who is specialized in one subject has no information about other fields because most of them are connected to each other and sometimes in order to be best in our jobs we find ourselves searching in other areas.

On the other hand, having broad spectrum although expensive, hard to handle and mostly are about jobs with low salary (part time jobs with no restriction for specialty) has benefits as well. Multi task people are like treasures for some jobs and sometimes it is their aptitude for being multi task brings them the opportunity to fit particular positions that not everyone can. For instance, the ability to socialize with people with variety of majors and fitting the world and the atmosphere around is a key role for a business manager. Furthermore, having knowledge and ability to handle different jobs looks legitimate and can be a guarantee to a person’s future with the depression predominant in countries and worsening conditions.

Ultimately personally talking, I hold this belief that as a teenager people should look into different fields so that they can choose their future way with eyes wide open because imagine wanting to change your field of study or occupation in your late 30s! I simply like to read books and essays about varieties of subjects and gain information superficially about them but this is just a habit of me in my leisure times. I strongly believe that there is nothing significant in obtaining power into all accounts. It is an indispensable fact that more knowledge and information a person has about his/her major the more his/her decisions are rational and more success follows.

In conclusion I may say that free will, talents, varieties of interests and conditions that people are living in can be the prior reasons that someone chooses either be a professional or not.