It is better to take a secure job with a low pay than to take a job with a high pay but is easy to lose

Some job-seekers contend that stability counts the most when they enter the workforce while others give priority to material gain that comes with the job. I, however, think this issue should be analyzed case by case.

First off, if it is the young people that we are talking about, a high salary is definitely what they should be going for even it can be a job that's easy to lose. It is because the youth tend to be more adaptive to new surroundings and more willing to accept challenges. In this case, even this highly profitable job falls short of stability, it is never too hard for the young to start over and find another livelihood somewhere else. As long as they can acquire certain skills during their previous occupation, this life experience is itself worthwhile already. Not to mention there is a high salary that comes along. Young people are quite in need of accumulating wealth so as to pave the way for future abundance. As known to all, the early years of their adulthood offers a great opportunity for the young to learn about the essence of diligence and frugality. I've once heard about a story that can be a good case in point. It is about the owner of the biggest car wash chain in China. He used to be a car salesman in his 20s. It was a golden age for mobile business in the end of last century. This young man was really good at dealing with people and worked harder than any other employees, so it wasn't long before he won a good reputation of good service and earned quite a fortune. While a friend of his received stable but limited income in government service, he lived on commission and it could sometimes even double what his friend earned. Later in his life he lost the job due to the bad economy, but at that time he already acquired enough funds to start his own car wash company. So it seems clear that a less stable but high-paying job can benefit the young people to a larger extent.

On the other hand, if it is the older generation that we've now turned to, the optimal choice is the other way around. As for the senior or the middle-aged, they normally have a family to support or some health problems to attend to. They wouldn't have that kind of stamina to try out other job options. For them, sustainability is the first factor that determines their quality of life. My dad is a tenured college professor. He receives a modest paycheck but he enjoys his daily routine of lecturing all day without the slightest fear of losing his job one day. I was raised in a happy family thanks to my dad being the bread-winner for all these years. We feel safe because the welfare is guaranteed with such job.If my dad had chosen another more profitable but unstable job, we would have had to worry how to get by in case of an economic recession.

To sum up, the ideal job type varies according to different age groups.