It is important to keep your old friends than is to make new friends.

Human is a social animal. He needs to interact with other human beings to sustain in the long run. Making friends is a crucial part of our social behaviour and demonstrates our social skills. Friends change according to time but it is important to value our old friend even though we make new friends.

One of the most important advantages of keeping old friends is that they know you inside out. Since you have spent a lot of time together, they are highly aware of your behaviour and will thus adapt accordingly. They will try to suit you better as compared to the new friends. This will give rise to a better understanding between the two.

Also, they are more dependable because they are trustworthy. Hence, you can depend on them in your problems and can even find a solution by taking their advice as and when required. Whereas, the newer friends cannot be highly depended upon until you gain confidence in them and gaining the confidence requires a lot of time and effort to be taken by both the people. For example, if you stuck up in a situation like deciding the career, the old friends will contribute highly as they have known you for years and know the skills you possess. Thus, they will be helpful in suggesting you better solutions and options to have. The trust between the two will prevent them from giving any kind of wrong advice.

There is also the emotional factor present between the two. It can be said that the there is a better emotional attachment with the old friends as compared to the newer ones. The older friends will be much more emotionally caring to you. For example, if you are caught up with some family problem which you cannot discuss openly with anyone. In such times, it will not only be easier to discuss your personal problems with them but also these are the people who can contribute to your problems. If there is a close attachment between them, they may even come forward to take up any social responsibility in the time of crisis. Such is the value of maintaining old friendships.

Though the older friendships should be valued, at the same time one should also opt for making newer friends. As we are social animals, the interaction with new people is necessary for our own development. It demonstrates the social quotient present within us. As we get to know new people, we come across newer experiences which at some point of time be crucial in the life ahead.

In the conclusion, it can be said that the old friends are equally important to keep as newer friends. Both have their own uniqueness and will contribute to our development in their own ways.