It is more beneficial for people to stop reading or listening to the news for a few days because there are too many news stories around the world

News always plays a pivotal role in our daily life. It serves as a tool for us to gain information and understand what is going on in this world. Nevertheless, the issue regarding the plethora of news has aroused public concern and at the same time provoke a heated debate about whether we should stop reading news for a while. Some people inclined to be strong believers in the extreme claim that we should always follow news. Perhaps sound and attractive as their argument seems, it can hardly bear closer analysis.

Accordingly, I, without hesitation, advocate that we should give us a break from the flood of news. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate on in the following essay.

First of all, a break from news will be beneficial for our mental health. Nowadays news company tend to use horrific headline to win readers attention. To be more specific, because negative news will attract more viewers due to our curiosity, the focus of news often fixate into the negative part of our country. As a result, we often feel overwhelmed by all these awful stories and it will seriously affect our mental stability. A day without watching news is necessary for modern people, it forces us to see this world in our own eyes, and appreciate its beauty without many concerns.

Second, few day off news will actually make us see the world in a clear view. There are too many news stories and some of them can be wrong and will bring misunderstanding to us. This point can be better and further supported by the example from my own experience. Last year my city experienced lockdown because of the spread of coronavirus. Before the lockdown, there was several news boast about the store will has no food in this period and people have to starve. It made so many people became hoarders in panic. Few days later, people then realized that the store was still open and there was no shortage of supply. Obviously, this example may inform us that instead of following the news in blind, a step off the news world enable us to see it more precisely.

Considering all the reasons and examples discussed above, we can safely come to the conclusion that giving yourself a break from news world is necessary, which should be definitely attributed to the relaxation of our mind and a clear view of this world.