Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Mobile phones have given people more freedom Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Widespread advances in technology have helped improve the overall quality of life across the world. Mobile phones or Internet are such examples. Mobile phones provide people with many new functions and make our life more convenient, but they also bring new issues like Internet addiction and less communication when people are too focused on their phones. In my opinion, from a whole perspective, I believe that mobile phones have given us more freedom than before. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate on in the following passages.

The first reason that should be considered is that mobile phones make our lives more convenient. In the past, if we wanted to communicate with others, our choices were limited. Whether using telegraph or writing letters is time-consuming and expensive. Nowadays with the help of smartphone, audio or text messages from two different countries can transfer in one click away. People have the freedom to communicate anywhere, anytime. It not only saves people's time but also make the world more connected.

Secondly, no one can deny the fact that mobile phones enrich our daily lives. The long commute or waiting time when we are stuck in subway or flight is tedious and exhausting. However, empowered by the newest technology, mobile phones are now equipped with the sum of modern entertainment. Whether you want to watch movies or play games, or you prefer to read books quietly, you can do all these activities on your smart phone. For example, when my mom took a business trip in the past, she often brought some books to kill time, but the weight of books were another burden for her. After she bought a new smartphone which enabled her to read on the screen, freed her from the heavy backpack.

Admittedly, the negative effect of mobile phones is still a pressing issue in our society. So many young people spend over ten hours staring at their phones and refuse to talk to their family members, even when they are sitting around the same table. Many people are concerned that the use of smartphones is the cause of various mental health issues. In contrast, this claim needs to be scrutinized meticulously. If we use smartphones properly and limit our screening time to a suitable range, the side-effects listed above won't be a problem.

To put it into a nutshell, the invention of the mobile phone is the fruit of modern civilization, not symptoms of its rot. It sets people free, serves as a convenient tool and brings us an incredible life experience.