It is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends.

We meet plenty of people in a day and few of them may become our good friend. As we grew up we make new friends, but it doesn't imply that we replace with the old ones. I disagree with the statement that we should keep old friends instead of making new friends. I will elaborate my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, we cannot categorize our friends with their importance. Ethire they are old or new, they have important role in our life. We cannot just always rely on old friends because there will be some situation when we cannot be in contact with our old friends. Though communication does not seem a problem these days with mobile phones and internet, physical distance imposes certain restrictions. For example, When I moved to the other town for my graduate studies. I was not able in tough with my old friends but at time I made new friends.

Secondly, it is also important to make new friends. That is a way you will learn to change, and even bring you different experiences in life. Making new friends makes us open minded and help us to develop our personality and ideas. We enhance our view of the world when we meet different people as they have different perspective, culture and opinion. For example, when I moved to another state for my garduate studies at that time I met few friends. Because of new friends I got knowledge of their culture, beliefs and religions.

Lastly, making new friends is sometimes necessary because they are related to our situation. Such as, I moved to the USA and I am working as a physical therapist, I have make new friends to understand the system of the job. In this case, we cannot ask help from our old friend because they are not aware of the solution of our problems.

Let's put in a nutshell, it is better to make new friends, they can help with the current situation. It also enhances our knowledge and personality.