It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

During our lives we meet thousands of people, and only a small fraction of them with whom we become friends. And then most of the friends come and go and eventually lost the connections with us, while only a few become old friends. No doubt that old friends are more important than the those you just make friends with.

Firstly, old friends is those you care most about, and vice versa. If not, they would have been your past and forgotten just like most of other friends. We care about them because we've had so much nice memory together, and we cherish this deep friendship. I have an old friend with whom I have done so many dumb things together. Although we have had different paths of life and seldom have chances to meet, but he is still one of the people that I care most about.

Secondly, because of the relatively deeper connection we have with old friends compared with new friends, we put more trust on old friends when we are in great need of help. For example, when I am short of money I can trust old friends to help me out, and they can also count on me to return in time. A new friend may consider such request twice because of doubts on whether I am trust worthy, and it will also be awkward for me.

Finally, we like to do things together with old friends. Since we have known them for years we are already familiar with their characters and ways of doing things. We've already passed the period where we had to get used to each other. Also, with old friends we have more things to discuss and even simply sitting together in silence won't make us feel uncomfortable.

Although it is important to make new friends when you move to another stage of your life, such as going to university or immigrating to other countries, we still regard old friends as best friends because of the deeper friendship.