It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Human being is a kind of social animal, which means people are always living with others instead of alone. Therefore, making friends is a necessary and natural behavior. We meet someone new according to different surrounding environment so that some people may confuse about the importance of new friends and old friends. From my perspective, I am all for that new friends play more significant roles in life than old friends.

Admittedly, old friends are familiar with you since you have known each other for several years even for 10 years. Old friends are more likely to understand your feeling and personalities deeper. Thus, there is no need to hide yourself before them and when meet the difficult situations, the habit created for years that easily ask them for help. And they have more experience than new friends which can offer you more suitable advice to deal with the problems, especially some financial problem such as lacking of living expenses but do not want to tell your parents. There are numerous warm memories sharing with old friends and I believe it is worth keeping in touch with them because of company.

However, with the change of environment, it is inevitable to leave apart with old friends while meet new people around new life. When emergency suddenly happen, it is impossible for old friends to give a hand since they are far from where you are. So, making new friends is a better approach to help with solve the daily life challenges. For example, I am a fresh student in the college and there are plenty of problems about life. One day I got serious sick and could not move. My roommates took care of me carefully, such as preparing medicine and bring back food to me. Thanks to her help I recovered quickly. If I refuse to make new friends and totally rely on my old friends, I have no ability to become health only by calling them on smartphone. That is why I mentioned, new friends are more helpful than old friends in some cases.

Furthermore, new friends are living the same location with you so that it is convenient to attempt new life and as quickly as possible to adapt the environment. When you want to take courses, you can invite them together; when you are interested in campus club but feel a little shy, they will take part with you and become good supporters; when you decide to go out of school in order to enjoy the city, I am sure that they are willing to explore together. Old friends are far from you, maybe studying in other cities. On the contrary, new friends can prove varieties of methods for you to learn about where you living.

To put it in a nut shell, making new friends is more important.