Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied

with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At the age of rapidly changing society, people easily have a grasp of more about the world and experience something novel. On the contrary, some people claim that they gradually become less happy and satisfied with lives than past years. I agree with this perspective.

Admittedly, highly developed technology offers convenience to people currently, such as searching on the internet, playing computer games and watching online videos, which could not happen in the pastime. Online shopping also greatly helps people’s daily life. There is no doubt that with the change and development, people who living nowadays get more and more colorful life than people who living in the past. Besides, in the past years, economic power was quite lower and people had to face with the shortage of material. But it has not been a problem yet since today our world has already changed. Sufficient and diverse commodity afford higher living standard and satisfy people’s need. So, with the development of economy and technology, people obtain happiness and sense of satisfied to some extent.

However, as I mentioned that people in the past did not have enough products or did not earn a large sum of money to purchase goods, they were more likely to get joy when they finally gain the things that they had desired to buy it for a long time. Take my own experience for example, when I was a kid, my parents rarely allowed me to eat junk food such as hamburger and French fires since there were few fast food restaurants and the price was higher than normal food. That was why once I ate this kind of food, I could extremely feel satisfied and full of happiness. But when I grow up, a growing number of restaurants has been built so that I can eat it whenever I want, I am not interested in it anymore. It tastes just like common food. Not only for junk food, but others kind of food as well. I lose my original sense of happy and satisfied.

Nevertheless, because of less entertainment, people in the last more frequently played outside with friends or spent more time with family than today’s people. They were willing to get along with others, chat and share about interesting experience which took place every day and take care of everyone around. The happiness generated by communication was much more than now, because we waste a plenty of time on electric products and this time should have been spent on human communication. When they enjoyed a journey with friends at fields, we are keeping in touch with friends through checking their Facebooks; when they had a pleasant conversation with neighbor, we even do not know the name of people who just living next to us; when they sat beside parents and listened to ancient story, we are watching advertising on TV in silence. It is obvious that people in the past acquired happiness and satisfaction through more approaches than now and their lives were simpler. The simpler, the happier.

To put it in a nutshell, although the changing world proves a variety of ways for happy, people in the past still lived with much more satisfaction. Thus, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.