When making major purchase (for example, car or laptop), our decisions can be

influenced by different sources of information. Explain how each of the following

sources of information can influence your decision.

(1) Recommendations from friends or colleagues

(2) Information from media (for example, TV, magazines, newspapers)

(3) Recommendations from sales person in the store

Going shopping is sometimes hard to decide since we do not clearly know whether the quality of purchase is good or bad. Especially for major purchase which in high price. So, people tend to get information about the purchase through a bunch of ways before they buy it. From my perspective, I agree with that the best approach is getting recommendation from your friends.

As for listening to recommendations from sale person, there is no doubt that sale person will suggest pay for it because his aim is selling this product. It is impossible to believe that sale person stands on the consumer’s position. As we know, they can acquire profit from major purchase so that they must attempt their best to let you buy it, even this purchase is not enough suitable for you. Besides, when directly facing a person who strongly persuades buying the goods, it is embarrassing to ignore or refuse his recommendation and finally you will pay for it though you may consider that you should not do.

Searching information from media such TV advertising is better than sale person since people can spend much more time thinking about the major purchase without being disturbed. It is more likely to make a correct decision when obtaining useful information through a variety of source. For example, my family bought a new car last year after a long process of thinking. My father searching on the internet every day to compare the car’s speed and sense of comfort. We did not go to the car company for help because we wanted to make right decision by ourselves. We have bought an almost perfect car. In fact, we also missed some details which have a few flaws. Getting information from media means people are not able to experience the major purchase in person, which can cause some blemished we do not realize before buying it.

When it comes to recommendation from friends or someone around, it is relatively the best methods since your friends are willing to offer the objective information and share with their own personally experience. To be more specific, they will care about your need and afford standard than sale person. Friend is the person who gains no profit form major purchase and stands right on your view. Plus, comparing to media process, experience and feeling about the purchase will better convey to consumers when they ask friends for suggestion. If other people bought the major purchase that you want to buy, they will help you to have a grasp of this purchase and you can more easily avoid something did not consider before.

To put it in a nutshell, different sources of information can influence decision differently. I believe the recommendations from friends is the most convincing information.