It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

It is claimed that keeping current friendship is more valuable than making new acquaintances, and it is assumed that well-known people are more reliable and closer to relatives. Although keeping good climate in established connections is highly valuable, I dare say that networking with unknown people is equally important nowadays.

Undoubtedly, staying in touch with old friends is of a great value. Already established connections are more closer to “relatives” and are much more reliable in tough situations, because their behaviour is usually much easier to predict. To be specific, doing business with friends from youth is quicker than with unknown people due to lack of trust between and among partners. However, the friendships is not guaranteed and the “wind of change” may come, when your friend-partner may betray you and leave the firm.

Nonetheless, the interests of people usually dramatically change through the life and may move far from those of friends. At that time people make new connections and develop their relationship with other people. Indeed, this concept may happen in every aspect of life beginning from work and continuing to sports or hobbies. Since 2020 the friend of mine has fallen in love with triathlon and made several new connections among other sportsmen from the running club where my friend trains till now. While their friendship has been expanding, they created several business projects conjugated with sports and made much money. Could he imagine that doing sports may dramatically change his life in aspects of life other than physical form and begin a new chapter in his life?

Equally important, new connections may foster career development in business spheres. For example, my neighbour Boris got stuck with generation of ideas at work project and asked for help his more experienced colleague. He then discovered that his colleague usually visited the same jazz club in Moscow. This knowledge laid the foundation for their relationship and further long-hours talks about music, art and jazz improvisation. Eventually, Boris grew as a professional in his firm and got a promotion to Director not only because of his jazz-related interests but also of new friend at work.

All in all, making new friends and staying with old ones has both its positive and negative effects. While old connections may betray at some time, new friendship could create immersive opportunities and gradually change ones life. I firmly believe that making new friends is obviously positive and may boost the personal growth and develop one’s character.