It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

I firmly believe in the adage that the bond of friendship only grows stronger with time. In my opinion, it is more important to maintain friendship with your old friends before looking for new ones. Firendship is a sacred bond and usually requires years upon years of constant emotional work to maintain. In today's world particulary, I believe keeping exisitng friends is paramount becasue of the reasons that I discuss in the following essay.

To begin with, friends play the role of support systems in our lives. They are the ones to whom we go in times of trouble. This is specifically true in the case of old and close friends. Old friends are more or less familar with our capabilities and habits. Thus, they are in the most prominent position to give us sound advice whenever we are troubled. Furthermore, old friends usually know us since childhood and therefore, they are not tainted by our achievements or lack of them. They stay besides you either way without any judgement or expectations. My own personal experience is a good example of this. I tend to have few friends but the ones that I do have known me ever since my high school. I share all my good or bad experiences with this closely knit group. They act as my pillars of support and I can count on them throughout my life.

Furthermore, it is really difficult to meet friends that can understand you better than your old friends. I particularly find it to be a daunting task to make new friends. Moreover, this task becomes more and more difficult as life progresses. This is primarily due to a lack of desire as well as time on part of people to create and maintain new friendships. For instance, I have personally tried hard to create new friends at my work place but have failed miserably each time. This is a testament to the fact that people do not have the kind of time that a friendship entails. People are too busy with their hectic lives to mull over the task of making friends.

In conclusion, I would like to underscore the above mentioned points and state that school or college friends are worth keeping around in your lives before trying to move on and make acquantainces. Each person in a relationship has the duty to keep the bond of friendship alive and fruitful for years to come.