In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker claims that beginners in any field of inquiry are more likely to make crucial contributions to the investigation than an expert or veteran. This statement holds true in a majority of professions such as police work and detective work. There are plenty of examples where a neophyte gave important insights that ultimately helped in solving a case. However, the statement may tend to be overstated when it is taken as a given. The experts in a field have been deemed so because they acquired years of experience and demonstrated skills that have enabled them to climb the heirarchy in their respective professions. Thus, the statement needs a close examination to evaluate this school of thought.

Novices tend to not be blinded by tried and tested procedures and rules. They bring a fresh pair of eyes into the investigation and may uncover clues that may have missed the eyes of a veteran investigator. Unorthodox procedures employed by the freshers may be the thing that is needed in cracking cold cases that have been shelved due to a dead end in investigation. To illustrate this, consider the case of the infamous Zodiac killer. Recenlty , the cold case was reopened by a rookie detective who claimed he wishes to lend a new dimension to the investigation that failed to catch the serial killer. Although, the appeal to reopen the case is still pending, it is exciting to see what may be uncovered by a new set of eyes.

Furthermore, the beginners are fresh out of university and usually it is their first foray into the real world. They tend to uphold the values that the law and enforcement body is based on. Due to years of serving in the force, officers tend to forget that they serve the people. Their conscience seems to be marred by venality and heartlessness. However, here the rookies bring a sharp contrast with their willingness to go above and beyond to maintain the integrity and dignity of law. For example, there was a recent case where a corrupt police officer was called out by a rookie to correct his ways which made an emphatic statement concerning the priorities of the new crop.

Although, they are are certainly capable of making major contributions in any field of inquiry, a novice's path is usually filled with obstacles and hindrance at every level. High standing offcials often brush aside their opinions and tend to squelch them with their power. A recent example highlighting such a situation is the uproar in the Indian navy when a cadet was forced to the bidding of a higher official by performing house chores for him. Hence, ego and power often come in the way of actual progress that could be made in these fields.

In order to sum up, I would like to underscore the importance of supporting the beginners and rookies by encouraging them to present their views. The field of investigation is an unpredictable and meticulous field and any keen insights are usually welcomed. An important clue that may have been overlooked by a veteran may be spotted by a rookie and vice-versa. The end result, nonetheless, is helpful in cracking the case.