Question:People who wear eyeglasses often need stronger prescriptions over time. For example, a woman in her 40s began wearing glasses on the advice of an optometrist and, in just one year, required stronger lenses. Furthermore, eyeglass and contact lens users report more eye-related problems than do those who wear neither. Given that a typical eyeglass wearer buys expensive new glasses every two to three years, people considering corrective lenses should instead invest in an eye-strengthening program, which could save them thousands of dollars over their lifetimes."

The argument on a whole describes that 'the measure of wearing eyeglasses and corrective lenses is in a way increasing the problem of faulty eyesight'.The evidences that the author uses like 'people with eyeglass have more eye problems' and 'people who are prescribed glasses eventually have to go for stronger prescriptions' have a person with eye problem as the subject and lack to discuss about the normal healthy people.Also, the solution that the argument refers is absurd and holds no significant importance to people who already have weak eye-sights.

Firstly,the evidence that people 'who wear eyeglasses often need stronger prescriptions' uses a 40 year old lady as the subject and tries to show her experience as a general one.As we grow old , eyesight becomes weak so we cannot hold the reasoning that the old lady needed a stronger prescription just because she started using glasses.It could be because her eyesight became more weak.We cannot generalize the way it is done.

Similarly to the above evidence the author again in the argument 'eyeglass and contact lens user reports more eye related problems' takes an eye-patent as the subject.Obviously if one is an eye patient he would be needing more assistance from the optometrist than a normal person. Reporting more eye related problems is just because of the fact they have once been diagnosed of suffering from eye problem ,hence further side effects might follow but it is no where related to their use of corrective measures like the eye glasses and contact lenses.

This argument also fails to answer some major questions about the measure that it is suggesting 'the eye strengthening program'.Is this program for people with normal eye or for people with bad eyesight? This is important because as far as the nature of such programs is they just increase the attentive ability of the eye or the concentration of the eye and not the eyesight.So it will be a waste for the people who have already invested so much in buying new glasses and lenses.

The argument tries to convince that people should not go for corrective measures such as eyeglasses and lenses if they have a bad eyesight.It fails to understand the need of them.Once a patient is diagnosed with a bad eyesight, he is left with the only options in order to live his life normally.Its not a choice but a requirement.Also, the argument fails to differentiate between eye patients and normal people.He should have provided better evidence in order to support his claims.Hence with a little more clarity with the subject of the evidence and the fact of knowing that wearing glasses is not a choice.