The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The common theme among a majority of the renowned personalities of the world, irrespective of the field they excelled in, is that they deviated from the norm.Innovators, visionaries and creators are born when humans reject the familiar and walk on the path of acquiring self-knowledge. Self- knowledge stems from the desire and curiosity to pursue the unknown.Taking the less traveled path may be precarious and may not always pan out well for everyone but it is the path that ultimately bores sweetest fruit.

Knowledge in the modern world is often confined within boundaries.This, in turn, limits innovation and creativity. For example, schools follow a strict curriculum often castigating students who deviate from the subjects taught. However, such blinkered mindset often dissuades students from moving towards developing an inherent desire to gain knowledge. Rejection of the known subjects and facts is often met with discouragement.

When these students enter the business world, they are further met with a set of rules and patterns that have been followed over the years. Risk assessment and analysis plays an ever increasing role in today's world.New ideas are often rejected because people are too scared to venture into the unfamiliar territory. This school of thought stifles the thirst for knowledge.Steve Jobs, a master innovator of technology,has proven and even stated that the people are not aware of what they want unless you show them. He followed this approach in enabling his company to reach new heights through ground-breaking projects and products that changed the world forever.

Over the course of history , many distinguished personalities have proven that going against the grain is necessary and often the only way to a solution to a problem. Albert Einstein, a paragon of innovation and a world acknowledged scientist, went against the traditional and well -accepted theories of the time to give the String Theory. Though initially met with contempt and confusion ,many scientists are only now seeing its technicalities and the future it presents.

Thus,even though remaining immured within one's comfort zone is safe and relatively easy ,it is the rejection of familiarity that truly guides the individual towards self-knowledge and even self-fulfillment.