It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Many people might agree that it is more important to keep old friends than to make new friends. They cite loyalty and the level of bonding between them. However, I believe that it is great to make new friends at different stages of our life. I feel this for two reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, I feel that making new friends is important because we get to learn many things from each of our friends. For example, in my graduate school, I made a friend who was extremely meticulous about cleanliness and hygiene. He taught me how not to make a mess and keep my room neat and tidy. Consequently, it helped me in the long run as now I am able to find things pretty quickly and things do not get lost as everything is so well organized. Therefore, there are many such qualities that we can learn from others since every person is different and this uniqueness helps both of them to grow substantially. Had I not met him, I would be the same untidy person till now.

Second of all, I believe that making new friends is so much fun. For instance, I had a friend during my high school who was an avid follower of baseball. On the other hand, I was never fond of that game, but watching him being so enthusiastic about the national league coming up I decided to watch the matches with him. Honestly, at first I thought that it would not be that great but as time passed by, it grew on me. I started to like baseball and I am thankful for him who opened up my eyes. Now, whenever any news of baseball circulates, we talk about it passionately. Everyone has different views and opinions and having a friend of different tastes helped me to acknowledge the other sides of the things.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that making new friends is also important but this does not mean that we should let go of our old friends. We are always going to meet different peoples from different walks of our life, so it common to make new friends. Moreover, it is advantageous to make befriend a new person as it helps us to learn about new things and it gives us the opportunity to see things differently.