It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Currently, there is a growing tendency for parents and teachers to pay attention to student’s knowledge accumulation. But in the meantime, whether understanding ideas and concepts or learning facts is of greater importance has been a highly debatable issue. Some people think that ready concept and ideas will improve studying efficiency largely while others hold the opposite idea that learning facts. Is an effective way to make children have a better understanding of the related knowledge? In my opinion, both of the two views have their own sound reasons.

On the one hand, convincing arguments can be made that understanding ideas and concepts has overwhelming advantages. The first and most important point is that ideas and concepts that are based on numerous first hand experiences can guide our behaviors thus the efficiency will be enhanced. For instance, in computer classes, an inexperienced teacher tells a student to switch off the computer n a specific time, but a competent teacher teaches the students the principle that when the computer fails to function or is infected with virus, shut it down. Secondly, those concepts and ideas such as old maxims and proverbs that were created by wise men in ancient time have remarkable Impacts on one's character-shaping and probable solving. One compelling example to my point is the TOEFL Test, which is hard for those who have comparatively weak foundation in English. So it is no longer surprising that test-takers display anxiety and even depression. However, a better understanding of the Chinese Proverb that it is the first step that costs troublesome is more likely to lead to a correct attitude towards the test.

On the other hand, learning facts has its irreplaceable significance in students learning process. In the first place, it is undeniable that some theories are extremely abstract for students to accept and learn the essence of them. For instance, parents always educate their children to be properly behaved and treat people courteously, which is not so good as to teach their kids by their own behaviors such as not picking up chopsticks or eating before the elderly do and never addressing teachers by their names. Secondly, only by fact-studying and constant practicing can one overthrow existing wrong theories. There is no better illustration than the example of Galileo, who got to the top of Leaning Tower Pisa and dropped two iron balls, one weighing a pound and the other weighing 100 pounds, at the same time. The result is that two balls unexpectedly fell to the ground at exactly the same time, which is opposite to the previous theory of Aristotle.

According to the analysis of what have been mentioned above, if students can effectively and efficiently make a balanced and full use of ideas and facts, great success will be easily obtained.