Many democratic countries report low voter turnout in people aged 18-25. Why do you think many young people are not voting?

I think that there is low voter turnout for people aged 18-25 for two reasons. First, I think that young people in stable, democratic countries do not feel like their government affects their lives. Secondly, I think that many young people who would be politically active are not because they don't believe that any one government would be better or less corrupt than another.

When a country has been at peace - at least on home soil - and relatively stable for a generation or more, I believe that the children of that country become apathetic about their government. Young people in these countries have not seen dictatorships and have not had to fight an enemy in their streets. Many young people, certainly those of the middle and upper class, have never experienced hunger, lack of shelter or any other major hardships outside of their family and friends. They may believe that the government is not really doing much, so they do not pay much attention to politics.

On the other hand, young people in democratic countries who do care about and pay attention to politics may be jaded. These young people may not believe that it makes any difference at all which political party is leading the country because all political parties are equally corrupt. In other words, there is no reason to vote - it is simply a waste of time.

I believe that governments of democratic countries need to do more to reach out to youth and try to convince them that their vote actually does count for something, and can affect change.