Many high school students are doing a lot of school work already, Some people believe that students should help their parents with household chores, since it‘s the best way to give them a sense of responsibility.

No one would doubt that people need to cultivate the sense of responsibility. In fact, there are many ways for students to become responsible, so some may have different opinions about whether students should do household chores. According to following reasons and some of my personal experiences, I do support the idea that students should help their parents with tedious housework.

First, responsibility means that students can live independently, and doing chores helps students handle daily trifles. Take myself for example, when I was a senior high school student, my mother always required me to help her to cook, to wash dishes, to do laundry, or to mop. Furthermore, I could not find any excuse to escape from all these boring tasks. However, after I attended a university which was far away from my home, meaning I have to live alone, I, unlike most of my classmates, knew how to live alone without help. Accordingly, students should build their sense of responsibility and solve daily problems, and doing chores can train them to do so.

Secondly, besides being independent, responsible students should know how to work with others, and doing housework gives students chances to learn how to share works equally. Take Fred, my younger brother, for example, my parents love Fred so much that they never ask Fred to help them. Moreover, Fred always takes others’ assistances for granted. As a result, whenever there are group tasks in school, Fred never helps his classmates. In the long run, no one wants to accept Fred, a free-rider, as their member. Consequently, students should share their responsibilities, and doing housework allows students to understand the importance of cooperation.

Last but not least, responsible students are good at time controlling, and helping parents trains students to arrange their time efficiently. Take an interesting school policy for example, according to the reports, the school requires students to do at least one housework every day. At first, most students complained that they could not finish their homework, since the housework is so time-consuming. Then, teachers teach students to arrange their time. For instance, students can write the report while the washing machine is operating. As a result, students learn how to allocate their time, and become more responsible.

Admittedly, doing chores may force students to distract from their own schedule, so it may seem reasonable that students do not have to help their parents. Yet, based on aforementioned analyses, I still believe that helping their parents with household chores is the best way to give students the sense of responsibility.