Many people visit museums when they travel to new places. Why do you think people visit museums? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traveling is one of the best activities people can do because there are an infinite amount of things and places that other cultures have made up. As far as I am concerned, people who visit museums while traveling are doing this because they want to know about the place’s history. I cling to this outlook because of two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, meeting the roots of any place, you will be able to enjoy the essence of this place. among the roots, there are cultures, languages, and things developed by the ancient inhabitants which just could be truly found in a museum. To clarify my point, let me take my last trip as an example. I traveled to Quito –the capital of Ecuador-. First, a friend from Quito show me around, but he told me that what he really appreciates of Quito is its history, so we decided to go to a museum so-called “Museo de Cera” where I found out why Quiteña people wear in a particular way, it was because when Spanish people conquered Quito, they force Quiteños to use their attires, if not they would be punished. This is how a museum makes you understand some particular features of the places you visit.

Secondly, people usually go to the museums first because they are curious about what happened in the past with this city. There are wars the city or place has undergone in past times which have left inhospitable areas. One example of this is Japan, I went to Japan I was warned of not going to Yakutami –a high-radioactive area-. So, I decided to go to a nearby museum to understand what happened there, the thing is that the US threw two nuclear bombs which produce high-radioactivity leaving the place totally death. It was so interesting to know about this place that I decided to explore the place but authorities did not allow me. This is how I acknowledged a great war success in Japan just by going to a museum.

To sum up, when you are traveling go first to a museum, thus you will understand everything you go through during the trip.