Many people visit museums when they travel to new places. Why do you think people visit museums? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Museums are places, which will never lose their popularity. Many people find visiting them during their vacations enjoyable and beneficial. There are, of course, plenty of reasons why people want to visit museums. In this essay, I am going to explain two of them.

One important reason why people visit them is that museums provide people with the elegant atmosphere to learn the history of those places effectively. Many cities include museums showing some historic event with visual effects. Take my İstanbul trip as an example. In my first travel to İstanbul, I visit many historical places and building such as Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque or Topkapı Palace etc. One of them was Panorama 360, which demonstrates the conquest of the İstanbul by the Ottoman Empire by touching the visual sense of visitors. When I entered the special room inside the building, what I saw was that I was inside a giant half sphere, where the environment of the battlefield was depicted on its wall. I could see the emperor riding a horse, soldiers holding their swords, cannonballs hitting the walls of the city. That war was the milestone in the world history because of its effects in the war technology and, I felt like I was in the middle of it. I think, by visiting that museum, I gained great knowledge rather than reading many books or watching documentaries.

Moreover, museums can also help people to learn the development level of civilizations. Some museums demonstrate important inventions and developments of either short or long period of specific time. For instance, during my Edirne trip, one of my destinations was Şifahane, which is called the Health Center Museum in English. There were a lot of different rooms demonstrating the healing of specific disease. Wax sculptures were used to animate them. I also learned that my country was able to cure mental patients with musical therapy whereas European Countries were torturing and killing them since their spirits were believed to be captured by evil. So, I clearly understood what my country’s development level was in comparison with others.

To my way of thinking, since museums provide visitors with great opportunities to learn more knowledge about the history of many places and important developments, people visit them.