Many students are asked to evaluate their professors at the end of the semester. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Throughout history, education has a pivotal role in all societies. Due to its importance, scholars have tried to elevate the effectiveness of evaluation of professor by students. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea among students, professors and faculty members is whether evaluating professors by students at the end of semesters proper or there are needed changes. I personally contend there are lots of disadvantages of the time of this process, but there are still valuable advantages for the whole process. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding advantages and disadvantages.

The first noteworthy point regarding the issue is that the main purpose of evaluation, which is to illustrate the positive and negative points of the class and the professor, is highly needed in order to improve the method. For instance, the professor will be conscious of the number of students who are not enjoying the time of the class, the method of the assignments and so on. This information may help him to improve the current methods in a way that the number of such students will decrease in the next semesters.

But probably the more important, and the more concrete advantage is that students will believe into the fact that they are important in this process and their opinion may change the routines. In this way, they will be more self-confident, and also the professor will bear in mind that he should satisfy his students in the whole semester. Besides the aforementioned advantages, there are some disadvantages mostly because of the inappropriate time of evaluation and the usual method of that.

The first disadvantage that can be provided is that the time of the evaluation is not proper for the students in that class. While evaluation is usually at the end of the semesters, the students of that class would not see the results of their own opinions, and this may be disappointing for them. If I was the organizer, I would definitely set several evaluation tasks in each semester. In this way, the process of improvement would be found out easier and also the students would have better feeling.

The second disadvantage that can be mentioned is that mostly the questions for this process are typical and old-fashioned. As a result, they would not provide lots of information for the expected improvement. Furthermore, the students may be bored in the process of answering such question. As a personal example, in our university we have to evaluate our professors at the end of the semester in our portal university site. There are bunch of questions regarding to the professor and the course, but they are the same for both theoretical and experimental classes. When it is the time to evaluate, I am really bored of answering this constant questions.

The issue of evaluating professors at the end of semesters by students is then, perhaps ironically, a thoroughly modern one in the spectrum of global development problem. Above all, I concur with the opinion that the main process of the evaluation is appropriate but there are some disadvantages which should be paid attention to. Besides the aforementioned advantages and disadvantages there may be other potential factors that could be evaluated. This is an area where all universities have much to learn and much to offer.