Modern technology has brought about changes in the roles of men and women. Discuss some of these changes. Do you think these changes have been beneficial?

The advent of technology has definitely changed the world. It deeply influenced the human’s life in many sides. But the most discussed changes are those brought in genders roles. The effortlessness created by progress led both genders to be involved in untraditional responsibilities. Yet many people believe that these changes made men and women socio-economic status equal. Personally, I agree with this and I think that, they have been profitable especially for women.

In the past, the role of women was taking care of the house, while men handle the subsistence of families. They deal with tasks requiring physical efforts and going outside like farming, working in mines and so on. Wives for their part, give birth, cook, bring up children and make clothing. This reflects how genders were viewed at that time. A man was seen as strong and so he was given the primary role whereas a woman was believed weak and thus did supporting roles.

With industrialization technology replaced manual labor force with machines, and this resulted in two main changes. First, the rapid growth in production induced an increasing demand on workforce. Consequently women were encouraged to join the labor force especially with the appliance making tasks, formerly known as men’s, much easier to perform. Secondly, in order to operate the machines, both needed to be educated. Hence, women were pulled out from ignorance. In my opinion this was very beneficial for both sexes but particularly for women since their education was not granted before.

Besides this, technology made life easier by manufacturing clothing, modernizing food production and inventing many household items. Those formers particularly made women have time to invest in themselves and evolved men in house holding. Now, many of them are even becoming home-staying dads. Meanwhile, women increasingly participate in the economic life, producing positive economic and welfare outcomes.

To sum up, as technology minimized the disparity in skills between genders both of them gradually become involved in each another roles. In my opinion technology brought equality between genders in term of job opportunities. This is particularly beneficial for women who as they gained an improved economic statue.