More educators these days are using technology in the classroom. In fact, many teachers now record their lectures, upload them on a website, and ask students to watch them before their lesson. During class, students report on the lectures and discuss them together. Would you prefer to have traditional style class or one where the lectures are pre-recorded?

There is a trend nowadays, educators more and more use technology like video recording and sharing it with students on websites prior to lectures. Especially it came obvious during the lockdown period caused by Covid-19 that a digital approach is essential when it is necessary to find an alternative to traditional classrooms. From my point of view, you should have to have an option to choose between such technology-based education and traditional style class.

I find two reasons why some students would prefer the traditional style. The first one is that you cannot ask questions while watching video lectures and obtain answers rapidly. Therefore, you have to write down things you do not understand and then ask the educator to explain, but that can lead to misunderstandings and you just can forget what to ask. Not surprisingly, it takes time to make notes after watching lectures and not so efficient without the ability to ask questions directly. Second, there is a risk that some students will not watch videos beforehand the lecture and they would not engage during the classroom because they are just not familiar with the topic of the lecture. Given this, if you attend the lecture you cannot skip or not listen to the educator especially if the lecturer can ask some questions from his side to check students' understanding during the class.

Nonetheless, it would be rash to conclude that technology doesn’t useful in terms of education. Technology-based lectures also can be very productive. For instance, during my education at Russian Gubkin State University, that method was used. Some educators provide us videos before the lecture, and then the matter of the lecture was explained additionally by discussing it together, asking questions, sharing opinions, giving arguments pros and cons. Most important we had more time to scrutinize the topic not just by absorbing text and formulas itself but by applying the subject to some real-life problems.

In conclusion, I want to highlight that traditional style class and applying technology in classrooms both can benefit education, we should not avoid any means to enhance student’s abilities and we must combine and provide the ability to choose between different styles of education.