Most of the parents usually find disapproval of the ways teachers are teaching their children, but it’s not suggested for the parents to express their disapproval to the teachers.

In teacher’s practical teaching process exist some unavoidable queries from parents and to some extent, and the way in which parents communicate and interact with teachers can play a vital role in children’s education. Some people argue that parents should express their opinion straightforwardly when they disagree with teachers' teaching. However, I believe that it was unwise of parents to do so for the following reasons.

First of all, parents’ viewpoints which are sometimes unprofessional can actually stand in the way. As is often the case, parents nowadays desperate to get more involved in children’s education as much as they can, but they haven’t undergone the systematic and professional training. When parents put forth some half-baked ideas which actually don’t have such positive influence on their children as they suppose, the teaching process will be disturbed, which can pose a major threat to children’s schooling. By contrast, after the strict discipline, most teachers are qualified for education and they know more reasonable and effective way to educate kids. Here is a case which will illustrate the point best: I knew a kid with parents engaging in business who pay attention to kid’s learning, no matter how busy they are. At one time, following teacher’s instruction, the kid went to art galleries or museums frequently instead of doing assignments in the classroom. But the parents thought the kid wasted lots of time in entertainment and criticized the kid seriously. To them, studying hard just means sitting and learning in the classroom. Eventually, during the parent-teacher meeting, the parents express their doubts about the teacher, and they were told that the field trip is another form of learning activity in which children can learn more hands-on and interactive experience and benefit a lot.

Furthermore, children would feel confused in the face of this argument and end up with a failing grade. Both parents and teacher exert a major impact on students. So, when parents straightforwardly express their opinion questioning the teacher’s teaching methods, children will be caught in a dilemma and have hard time understanding which part is right and what they should do. Even worse, the parents’ questioning may send out a wrong message to the children that they shouldn’t listen to the advice of the teacher or do not have to do the homework assigned by the teacher. Additionally, without enough confidence in the rightness of what teacher teach, children would be prone to focus on skepticism, instead of concentrating on the textbook or the course content. Over time, children’s academic performances will definitely decline, whose cause lies in the fact that the parents to express their disapproval to the teachers.

However, I’m not saying that parents should take a back seat and count on the teacher completely. As I indicated in the beginning, parents’ involvement does have the impact on children’s education. As far as I am concerned, when parents find disapproval of the ways teachers are instructing, the key to solving the problems is good communication, not to express their disapproval to the teachers. Only in this way can parents get a better and integrated understanding of teachers’ teaching methods. As a result, the combination of parents’ involvement and teachers’ efforts will be of benefit to children’s growth.

To sum up, when parents find disapproval of the ways teachers are teaching their children, it’s not suggested for the parents to express their disapproval to the teachers.