Is relating well to others more important than studying hard?

Robinson Crusoe is only a dream hero existing in people's fancy world of imagination. As social beings, humans can never do without the help and support from others. Isolation is the strongest enemy in one's career life. It has been widely acknowledged that relating well to others paves the way for people to achieve professional success. However, that does not mean what has been learned in class is not worthwhile. In my opinion, building good relationship with others is as important as studying hard at school.

Above all, knowledge is power, just as Thomas Jefferson once expressed. To some extent, the essences contained within all school subjects simply resemble the concrete frames of architecture. Without them, the building would soon collapse. In order to achieve success in one's future career life, it is imperative for students to study hard at school. Therefore, there is no excuse for any student to shun the most fundamental task of studying. The "No pains, no gains" concept should be deeply rooted in the mind. Diligence is the premise of a bright future. In this regard, we may refer to Madam Curie, a Polish physicist and chemist famous for her pioneering research on radioactivity. She studied hard at school and earned her higher degrees. The subsequent scientific research made her the first person honored with two Nobel Prizes—in physics and in chemistry. She was the first female professor at the University of Paris. Evidently, these unprecedented achievements owed much to Madame Curie's untiring efforts at school.

Secondly, the modern world values teamwork, which is a key to career success. Only through interactions with partners can one master the art of cooperation. This vividly demonstrates the significance of relating well to others. At school, there are many projects or group work assigned to students. The participation in any project requires the united efforts of all group members. During the course of a group task, each individual has to work together with their partners. Bearing in mind their common goal, all members are devoted to their assigned part of the task. Just like different components of an engine, everyone is interrelated. If a single part refuses to function, the whole engine may suddenly stop or even break down. It is such a dramatic effect that depicts the value of working harmoniously and resolving any conflicts.

Nevertheless, even though we have ascertained the value of diligence at school and also testified to the importance of building good relationships with others, there is still one point that must be especially emphasized. To illustrate, it is not wise to become bookworms and spend all one's school time reading textbooks. By no means could one succeed if he or she is only good at reciting theories and cannot put what has been learned into practice. Therefore, a practical study plan ought to be made. After all, every student is entitled to spend some time with their friends.

To sum up, working diligently at school is a fundamental task on the part of students. On the other hand, learning how to relate well to others before entering employment is also important. Every single day spent on campus ought to be made full use of, as this crucial period in life definitely constitutes a stepping stone to a brighter future.