Should people work in the same company or for the same employer for their whole life?

Outwardly, it appears to be a desired privilege for an employee to be granted a life-long post in a company. No longer will he be involved in the tense competitions on the job market and a stable professional future is held in his hand. However, such an ideal expectation has a series of hidden limits that should be emphasized. Today our modern society is advancing at a remarkable speed. Not a single person is capable of foreseeing the future that is full of a million uncertainties. As a result, in my opinion, it is nave to dream of a life-employment opportunity nowadays.

There is no denying that serving under one employer for life might have been advantageous in the past. Under the planned economy, China used to designate life-long posts for college graduates. For those who were offered such a position, they were blessed with stable incomes and ample staff welfare. This ensured pay helped enhance their living standard and overall life quality. In addition, the company was just like a big family where all members were united and determined to make contributions. As for the leaders, they were able to keep their working forces going strong with employees cooperating and working together. To some degree, it also helped maintain social stability.

Nonetheless, the market-based economy today makes life-long employment unrealistic. A series of complicated social elements are the major obstacles that force job hunters or employees to give up the ideal of a life-long position. To illustrate, modern economy can never do without personnel transfer, which is the symbol of a vigorous job market. The growing number of candidates has made the competition fiercer than before. As a result, even if one succeeds in filling a long-term post, he is still faced with unexpected challenges from other employees or new job hunters. Besides, the prosperous economic environment encompasses more potential opportunities for the working class. Whenever a better job opportunity in a different company appears, few people would wait around, but would strive to improve their situation instead.

On the part of the employers, most of them are unwilling to offer life-long positions. A major reason lies in exceedingly heavy financial burdens. Some bosses also fear that if there is no pressure of job losses, employees will lose the impetus to make progress and thus working efficiency might be negatively affected.

In conclusion, both the job candidates and the employees ought to adopt objective views on their career life. The social reality today no longer allows people to become absolute idealists and perfectionists. As a matter of fact, it is unimportant whether one can work for the same company for their whole life or not. What really matters is to be prepared for new opportunities and potential changes that might appear in one's future endeavor toward success.