Is it more important to work quickly with risks making mistakes than to work slowly with everything correct?

Time and tide waits for no man. No matter what one is engaged in, the concept of time is always a primary concern and decisive factor. Any delay during the progression of a work task might be fatal. On the other hand, quality is also important in a task. To some extent, high speed might incur mistakes and risks, but that does not mean one cannot work with efficiency. From my point of view, it is a better choice to work with speed without neglecting quality.

In the first place, every minute should be made full use of once a task is initiated. A second saved is a second gained. Any intentional delay is a waste of time and might lead to severe consequences. Therefore, a feasible schedule should be drafted and strictly followed. Nobody is allowed to work slowly. In a sense, deadlines that have been settled are the most effective stimulus urging people to concentrate on their work. In most cases, completing a job ahead of time can also give a person that sense of self-fulfillment, thus helping maintain their enthusiasm in the future. Here is a concrete example to testify to the importance of time. My cousin is a person who never works slowly. As a PhD candidate at Northwestern University, he is able to participate in many projects. Last semester he was appointed as the team leader of an emergent project. After working out a suitable timetable, which he strictly adhered to, he and his partners worked efficiently together. The project was completed on time, and with very few mistakes.

Secondly, there is no need to fear making mistakes and taking risks. These experiences are worthwhile and beneficial to future development. Learning from the past help to avoid future blunders. If no mistakes are made, or no risks taken, how can a person have opportunities to improve himself? Thomas Edison, the greatest inventor the world has ever seen, taught us that making mistakes is only a precursor to success. After making numerous experiments and experiencing uncountable failures, he finally succeeded in finding the most suitable material for electric light bulbs.

In the third place, attentiveness and care help reduce the possibility of making mistakes when speed is required. With the mental pressure of time restrictions, one's attention may not be so easily distracted. Immersing himself in the task at hand can help him avoid careless mistakes. Taking this aspect into consideration, speed and quality may not be totally contradictory to one another, but rather complimentary to personal job satisfaction.

To sum up, during the course of an endeavor, all participants should attach great importance to both speed and quality in their plan. All the time spent on one's work should be treasured. Even though there may be encounters with faults or risks, working at a reasonable speed while having focused attention is highly recommended.