Does playing sports teach us about life?

Dating back to ancient times, our ancestors engaged themselves in various kinds of sporting activities, like Cuju, or ancient Chinese football. For thousands of years, people have never stopped playing sports. This demonstrates the importance of sport in human development. Today, modern citizens are blessed with more diversified choices of games than ever. As far as I am concerned, participating in various sports not only benefits people physically, but also teaches people lessons about life.

Above all, playing sports shows us an important truth that life is always in motion. This famous notion was first brought up by a French thinker named Voltaire. Such an idea is simple in words but deep in meaning. The globe is turning nonstop; the sun rises in the east and sets in the west day after day; rivers are flowing towards the sea; time is passing; all living creatures are growing…all these events justify Voltaire's concept. Indeed, motion is the prerequisite of life, without which all living beings would perish and the whole universe would no longer exist. Taking part in any sport, like playing basketball, swimming, diving, playing golf, or running, involves body movements and physical strength, which in turn constitutes an indispensable benefit to one's life. Health is a determinant factor in sustaining life and allowing it to continue. Playing sports is an effective way of keeping people healthy enough to progress smoothly in their life.

In addition, people are taught to cooperate well with others while participating in team sporting events. Having cooperative interactions with others is also of essential importance to one's career life. In a sports team, all members share a common goal and strive to combat the opposite side. It is in the process of such an endeavor that people realize the power of unity. Although all members are playing different roles in a match, they are embracing the same dream to win. Only when each is functioning well in their role and cooperating effectively with others can the team gain the final victory. The essence of teamwork is reflected in many sporting events. Without a doubt, experiences in sports can prepare people for their career life.

Last but not least, playing sports reminds people of the importance of obeying rules and keeping to principles. There are general scoring rules for each sporting event. All players are supposed to follow these rules. Otherwise their team might suffer losses. The same is true in real life. If a person goes against the basic rules, he might face failure. Besides, human society is ruled by laws. Anyone who violates the laws will be punished.

To sum up, the significance of sports has far exceeded its primary purpose for recreation and health. As a matter of fact, playing sports is such an educational activity that it helps people both physically and spiritually. Judging from all the essential values lying within each single form of sports, there is sufficient evidence to conclude that playing sports teaches people lessons about life.