Shouldn't people pay for public transportation?

To many city dwellers nowadays, public transportation may be their one and only choice to be able to get around every day. Indeed, being a most convenient and economical means of traveling, it boasts a number of superior qualities compared with private cars. That is why the government is highly concerned about improvements in traffic conditions and invests heavily in the construction of a more advanced infrastructure. In recent years, a controversial proposal was brought before the public eye, suggesting that passengers not pay for the public transport. Such an innovative idea might be reasonable in some aspects. However, in my opinion, doing away with fares completely is not realistic, but cutting down on them can be more applicable and beneficial.

Firstly, not paying for the public transport will exert an excessive financial burden on the government. Tremendous investments are being made to construct more roads, build more overpasses and develop new bus and subway lines. In addition, due to the climb in petrol prices, the cost of running a vehicle has risen to historic levels. On the other hand, if people don't pay for bus rides, some bus companies might reach the verge of bankruptcy. In order to maintain the continuous development of the public transport system, precautions ought to be taken in advance in case the government can no longer keep up with the demand for traffic funds. Revenue collected from the passengers' fares contributes to a portion of the total amount of money used to build and develop the city's transport systems. Therefore, all citizens ought to shoulder the social responsibility to lend their support in a financial way. After all, they are the major beneficiaries.

Secondly, the capacity of current public transport is far from adequate in handling greater traveling demands. It is a common economic law that if demand far exceeds supply, a society might be in danger of a potential crisis. The same is true with the traffic system. Predictably, if people are allowed to use public transport free of charge, the number of passengers will explode. As a consequence, buses and subways will be overly crowded. Both the travelers and drivers will face a nightmare. Quality of service and safety of traveling would never be well ensured and people might have to wait in even longer queues. Without a doubt, people's normal life will be negatively affected. The entire transport system might end up in a mess, which will finally become a major crisis.

As a matter of fact, cutting down on fares could be a better solution. Cheaper and more convenient paying methods have proved an effective measure in solving traffic problems in many cities. Take the capital of China as an example. Beijing is one of the pioneer cities to charge less public transport fees by promoting the use of IC cards. Those who scan their cards after getting on the bus will be granted a discount. Today, urban dwellers in Beijing have witnessed the improved traffic conditions due to the reduction in car usage. In reality, similar measures are being taken by many other major cities around the world, which further justifies its effectiveness.

In summary, there are more hidden defects lying beneath this free-of-charge proposal than its possible benefits. Whether it should be finally implemented depends largely on the respective transport systems in different regions. Only when the traffic network is fully developed to the highest degree can those predictable risks and drawbacks be totally eliminated.