The most important things for governments to do to improve health care

Viewed from a certain angle, the overall health level of citizens reflects whether the government is fully implementing its functions. A sophisticated health care system does not merely optimize social welfare that benefits the people, but also helps the authorities gain more support from the general public. Health care ensures the smooth development of a country. Regarding the specific measures to meet this goal, some people believe that cleaning up the environment is the most important. From my standpoint, it is undoubtedly an effective choice, yet other methods also deserve equal attention.

First of all, improving health care is of essential importance to a country, thus, only concentrating on one specific area is far from enough. In order to prosper the economy, every nation in the world strives to build working forces with desirable health conditions. Just as a celebrated political figure used to say: "a strong body is the prerequisite of any social course." In this respect, perfecting health care not only complies with the essential interests of people, but also helps strengthen the national power of the country.

Admittedly, cleaning the environment helps reduce the chances of health problems. According to a medical analysis, a number of human diseases are caused by water and air pollution. For example, the release of chemical, biological or radioactive contaminants into the air and water might severely threaten human life. Most of these hidden hazards are invisible to the naked eye, thus making it difficult for people to take immediate precautions. They are likely to be taken in by the human body without them noticing. Shanghai once experienced an outbreak of viral hepatitis due to people's consumption of contaminated aquatic products. In addition, long-time exposure to contaminated gas may also induce certain health problems like tuberculosis. As a result, it is imperative for the government to clean the environment by strictly eliminating any potential sources of pollutants, like industrial plants or nuclear power stations. The environment monitoring mechanism should also be well maintained so that people can be informed of air and water conditions in time.

As a matter of fact, health care improvement involves more than cleaning the environment. A sound health care system ought to be established. For instance, a stronger team of medical staff should be built. More advanced hospitals and medical organizations are also needed to meet the increasing health demand of citizens. In addition, the government is obliged to render financial support to important medical research and encourage experts to make more breakthroughs in curing fatal diseases. The quantity and quality of medical inventions should be considerably enhanced as well. Without a doubt, all these measures require tremendous financial assistance.

In summary, with the purpose of establishing a most satisfactory social health care system, unremitting efforts ought to be made by the government. Favorable impacts of a cleaner environment will get results, yet other aspects are to be functioning as well. With increased public awareness, all these essential elements can be taken into account and brought into full play.