Are environmental issues too complex to be handled by the individual?

Issues concerning the environment are still on the rise. In the face of such a complex situation, immediate actions ought to be taken, or else this planet might no longer endure human inhabitation in the unpredictable future. Before it is too late to mend past faults, neither the government nor the ordinary people can be excused from the responsibility of solving these problems. There is no denying that depending solely on the dedication of an individual is unrealistic. However, that does not mean the role people are playing is unimportant. In my opinion, to settle these complicated issues, each person is obliged to cooperate with the government and the public.

Above all, individuals are no small contributors to the complexity of environmental issues. We can find evidence of personal impacts in many aspects. For instance, the use of private cars not only exerts excessive burdens on energy preservation, but also causes pollution with the exhaust gas discharged into the air. Furthermore, a news report says an average of 3 kilograms of rubbish is being dumped by each household every day, which will undeniably lead to serious pollution problems if the waste is piling up and cannot be treated in time. Even in public places or tourist sites, pollutants like waste plastic bags, paper, empty cans and boxes can be found everywhere. Regarding these aspects, individuals are to blame.

In fact, the ignorance of social members and their over-reliance on the government will undoubtedly make matters worse. Suppose everyone takes it for granted that the government should be fully responsible, then the environmental issues will inevitably become more and more complex. People's lack of self-awareness in daily life has already led to serious pollution problems and excessive consumption of energy. If no immediate attention is paid to these unacceptable deeds, severe consequences may be incurred. An environment-friendly world is the common aim cherished by all living beings. Hence, people from all walks of life, young and old, poor and rich, should offer to join in the campaign against environmental hazards.

Admittedly, under the support of each individual, the government is in the best position to ensure all the environmental issues smoothly solved. By cautiously implementing relevant policies, laws and regulations, the authorities are obliged to supervise and pilot the behavior of the public in case unwanted actions are taken. To illustrate, the local governments in some major cities are restricting the use of private cars through implementation of laws. Besides, it is crucial for the government to set up more funds by attracting larger investments to solve financial problems encountered during the course of environment-related projects.

As long as the entire society is on a mission to combat the existing and potential environmental challenges, sooner or later the day will arrive when the earth is safeguarded and its environment is further improved rather than deteriorating. Although it is only a distant target so far, with all individuals and the government collaborating together, human power can be highly effective against any undesirable and complex issues.