Are some scientists responsible for the negative impacts made by their discoveries?

Undeniably, any breakthrough made in the field of science symbolizes not only the unmatchable intelligence of mankind, but also significant progress of human society. Some of the most noteworthy discoveries have rendered prestige to scientists due to the far-reaching benefits their achievements have brought to the entire human race. The Nobel Prize and many other high-ranking rewards in science further testify to the importance of scientific discoveries. Nevertheless, regarding the negative impacts produced by some discoveries, a number of people believe that scientists are to blame. In my opinion, such a prejudice should be eliminated.

In fact, everything in the world is double-sided, and scientific discoveries are no exception to this rule. In other words, science is a two-edge sword. If applied in the correct way, it will bring forth tremendous benefits to human beings. Conversely, the abuse or misapplications of scientific discoveries might lead to catastrophes. What's worse, there is also the possibility that some ill-intentioned individuals take advantage of some scientific advancements to commit crimes or other immoral deeds. Radium is an epoch-making discovery made by Madam Curie. X-rays radiated from this element could serve for medical use to cure many fatal diseases including cancer. However, if it is not used in a proper way, the radioactive rays will do harm to human health. Another example lies in nuclear energy, which could be utilized to build nuclear power stations that serve the people. By contrast, the use of nuclear weapons will undoubtedly bring about nightmares to the entire human race. Therefore, it is the shared responsibility of all to guard against any possible hazards some discoveries might produce.

In order to make their discoveries beneficial to society, scientists have a duty to offer effective guidance that helps prevent any potential threats. For instance, before a new discovery is put to use for human needs, the discoverer is obliged to formulate official instructions which must include the most detailed introduction, the most accurate methods of application, and all the areas it can be used, as well as a list of potential side effects or threats it might bring. These preparations are of vital importance, thus deserving wholehearted attentiveness on the part of scientists. Besides, governments should also shoulder the responsibility of supervising the applications of major discoveries, making sure that they are used legally and correctly.

In conclusion, the world of science is full of mysteries that need to be probed deeper by scientists. Without their painstaking efforts and wholehearted dedication, human society can never advance further. Therefore, in spite of those side effects hidden beneath the application of some discoveries, scientists still deserve acknowledgement and support from the general public. It is a combined responsibility for both the scientists and the ordinary people to prevent their negative impact.