Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

There is no doubt about the importance of group work. Participating in the group is essential for everyone who wants to achieve their goals. Evaluating each participant in the group is important as well. Some people believe that each participant should be graded the same. Others think it is not a good idea at all. Hence, it raises a controversial question whether every member of the group has to receive the same grade or not. In my perspective, I strongly believe that every person has to be assessed individually in the group. In what follows, I will pinpoint the two most prominent reasons to elaborate on my stand point.

My first reason to champion my point of view is that if there is the same mark for every student, it leads to some students not trying hard enough on that project. As a result, some students endeavor hard to get the best score and others do not. There is no motivation for students to work hard. So this method does not determine the percentage of the participant precisely. My personal experience is a great example of that. A couple of years ago, when I was a student, I joined a project in our biology class. Pupils already knew that every one got the same mark in the same group. I really worked hard for that project, while one of my friends did not work at all. At the end of the semester, we both got the same grade which was not fair.

Secondly, evaluating the students similarly in the same group, besides the elimination of the hard work of some students, also caused tiredness for other students who really worked hard on the project. Since responsible students were forced to put more energy in this situation. As a result the group could not receive the potential score. For instance, I remember we had a project in our math class at the university. There were two groups for that project. One of them including me had very active students, who spent a lot of time on the project to do well. The other group, consisted of active and non-active students. The latter group had a really bad experience. Active students became tired and exhausted to finish the project. Consequently they could not get a proper score.

Based on what is discussed, I think high schools and universities should evaluate students individually in the same group.