Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

Nowadays, doing a research project is the main part of students’ curriculum and all professors encourage them to do their best when they are asked to do a project in a group. There is a dilemma that we should consider all the group members as equal and grade them the same, or it is better to rate them separately. Someone claims that teachers should evaluate students separately to tackle the problems of inequality, whether other people hold the opinion that giving them the same grade is a better way. Were I forced to choose, I prefer the former point of view to the latter one and will elaborate reasons in the following essay.

The first reason worth mentioning is that giving the same grades can be beneficial for enhancing team cohesion. Each member of the team knows that they will be treated equally so they will look at themselves as a friend not a rival, and will endeavor together to achieve the ultimate goal of the team. Students with better capacities will be willing to offer help to those members who counter difficulties, and the member who is being helped will eager to learn so as to make more contributions to the whole group project. When facing a hard problem, all members can go together to share ideas rather than considering who will get more grades in the evaluation process. All these behaviors can help form a virtuous cycle of building an excellent team atmosphere, which eventually leads to improving the efficiency of the whole group.

The second reason why I support giving the same grade is that evaluation each member separately, in general, is much more difficult for teachers to do. There are many steps in finishing a group project, and many of them are overlapped, which means each member may be involved in multiple steps in the whole process, and the professor could not easily grade group members individually when the aim of this work is collaborating. To put this into perspective, taking the case of myself when I was doing research with my friends in a laboratory. We were assigned to code a program to solve a complicated business issue, whose procedures are tightly correlated. Our teacher firstly evaluated this program individually. Not only the grades were far from fairness, but they also ruined our sense of teamwork. After consulting with our professor, he accepted to change his strategy of judging when we introduced him to how we collaborated to tackle the difficulties encountered in the research. Had it not been asked for him to evaluate this program again, we would never satisfy with the result of the task.

In conclusion, in terms of the reasons I have mentioned above, I totally support the strategy to give students the same grade in a group project. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand people’s eyes, I firmly believe my opponents would yield after being shown to my article.